This is the "Geographic Information Systems" page of the "Geographic Information Systems (GIS)" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Geographic Information Systems (GIS)   Tags: cartography, geographic information systems, gis, mapping, maps  

A guide to geographic information systems resources.
Last Updated: Jun 29, 2015 URL: http://bsc.libguides.com/geo Print Guide RSS Updates

Geographic Information Systems Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome to the GIS LibGuide

This guide provides links to some of our key geographic information systems resources. Please explore this guide and don't hesitate to contact us if you have any questions.

For additional information, please visit the Bismarck State College Library web site or contact us.

 

Films on Demand

Geographic Information Systems (24:00)

The aim of this program is to excite students about geographic information systems and encourage the use of GIS in the classroom. Spotlighted applications of GIS include ways that urban planners in India are using it to map traffic flows; how it’s being applied in London to plans for projected mass transit use during the 2012 Olympics; how it’s being used by disaster response teams to prepare for possible nuclear reactor leaks; and ways that police are using it to track and reduce crime. Original title: Geographical Information Systems (GIS). (24 minutes)

Off campus users click on this link to view video.

 

Online Access

Bismarck State College Students, Faculty, and Staff have online access to the Library's Research Databases. These Databases include:

  • e-books
  • e-audiobooks
  • Encyclopedias
  • Images
  • Journal Articles
  • Magazine Articles
  • Music Collections
  • Newspaper Articles
  • Streaming Videos
  • and many other resources....

To access research databases from an off-campus computer, the searcher needs an NDUS ID. If you have forgotten your NDUS ID, follow the instructions here.

For further information on logging into library databases review this guide: Remote Access to Library Resources.

If you have difficulty getting into a databases or any questions please contact us:

Main Phone: (701) 224-5450
Toll Free: (800) 445-5073
Email: BSC.Library@bismarckstate.edu


     

    Useful Books

    Cover Art
    Secrets of Top Students - Stefanie Weisman
    Call Number: eBook LB1049 .W445 2013eb
    ISBN: 9781402280818
    Publication Date: 2013-05-07

    Cover Art
    Schaum's Quick Guide to Writing Great Research Papers - Laurie Rozakis
    Call Number: eBook LB1047.3 .R69 2007eb
    ISBN: 9780071511223
    Publication Date: 2007-01-01

    Cover Art
    The College Student's Research Companion - Arlene Rodda Quaratiello; Jane Devine
    Call Number: Z710 .Q37 2011
    ISBN: 1555707297
    Publication Date: 2010-11-01

    Reference Team

    We are here to help you with your research and with finding information to complete your assignments. Please contact one of us with any of your library questions.

    Sandi L. Bates
    click here for email
    701-224-5451

    Johanna Bjork
    click here for email
    701-224-5738

    Liz Mason
    click here for email
    (located off campus - email is best way for contact)

    We make our best effort to get back to you as soon as possible. If you ask a question in the evening, you can expect an answer the next morning; with weekend questions your answer will be sent on Monday.

     

    Questions?

    Call a Librarian
    Call the Reference Desk: 701-224-5450

    Visit the Library
    Stop by the Reference Desk to ask your question in person.

    Send an E-mail
    E-mail a question to a librarian.

    • This service is available to BSC students, faculty, and staff and other BSC library card holders.
    • You can ask about specific facts, for help doing your research, or for assistance using our library's resources and services.
    • We will respond to your question as soon as possible, usually within 24 hours. Response time varies because of our hours of operation, the type of question asked, and the availability of staff.

    Schedule a Consultation

    Make an appointment with a librarian for one-on-one assistance with your research project, help in finding appropriate resources, or instruction on using library resources. Call 701-224-5450.

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip