This is the "Welding" page of the "Welding" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Welding   Tags: metalworking, welding  

A guide to welding resources.
Last Updated: Jun 30, 2015 URL: http://bsc.libguides.com/welding Print Guide RSS Updates

Welding Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome to the Welding LibGuide

This guide provides links to some of our key welding resources. Please explore this guide and don't hesitate to contact us if you have any questions.

For additional information, please visit the Bismarck State College Library web site or contact us.

 

Films on Demand

Gas Metal Arc Welding (GMAW) (20:00)

Also referred to as “MIG” (metal inert gas) welding, GMAW creates an arc with a solid wire fed through a MIG gun and melted to form a weld. This video guides students through the basics of gas metal arc welding, which is often used in automotive, structural, and production manufacturing. Helping students identify the correct duty cycle for the job at hand, the video explains the function and specifications of the electrode or “filler wire” as well as the other GMAW tool components. Safety, transfer modes, general setup procedures, laying and reading beads, and other topics are featured. A troubleshooting segment helps deal with problems like an erratic puddle, excessive spatter, porosity, poor penetration, and excessive penetration, with advanced GMAW techniques also explored. Correlates to all National CTE Organizational Standards (including the provisions of the Perkins Act). A viewable/printable instructor’s guide is available online. A Shopware Production. A part of the series Welding Processes and Fundamentals. (23 minutes)

Off campus users click on this link to view video.

 

Online Access

Bismarck State College Students, Faculty, and Staff have online access to the Library's Research Databases. These Databases include:

  • e-books
  • e-audiobooks
  • Encyclopedias
  • Images
  • Journal Articles
  • Magazine Articles
  • Music Collections
  • Newspaper Articles
  • Streaming Videos
  • and many other resources....

To access research databases from an off-campus computer, the searcher needs an NDUS ID. If you have forgotten your NDUS ID, follow the instructions here.

For further information on logging into library databases review this guide: Remote Access to Library Resources.

If you have difficulty getting into a databases or any questions please contact us:

Main Phone: (701) 224-5450
Toll Free: (800) 445-5073
Email: BSC.Library@bismarckstate.edu


     

    Check it out!

    Find Materials at the Library

    Search    By      
    Library  

    Search tips:

    When searching for a research topic, use a Keyword search to explore. When you find something that fits your topic, look at the subject headings.  Then use those subject headings as your search terms to find more materials on your topic.

    When searching by Author, try the last name, then first. "Sagan, Carl" will be more successful than "Carl Sagan."

    Your Mystic Card (BSC student id) is required for all circulation transactions.

        Reference Team

        We are here to help you with your research and with finding information to complete your assignments. Please contact one of us with any of your library questions.

        Sandi L. Bates
        click here for email
        701-224-5451

        Johanna Bjork
        click here for email
        701-224-5738

        Liz Mason
        click here for email
        (located off campus - email is best way for contact)

        We make our best effort to get back to you as soon as possible. If you ask a question in the evening, you can expect an answer the next morning; with weekend questions your answer will be sent on Monday.

         

        Questions?

        Call a Librarian
        Call the Reference Desk: 701-224-5450

        Visit the Library
        Stop by the Reference Desk to ask your question in person.

        Send an E-mail
        E-mail a question to a librarian.

        • This service is available to BSC students, faculty, and staff and other BSC library card holders.
        • You can ask about specific facts, for help doing your research, or for assistance using our library's resources and services.
        • We will respond to your question as soon as possible, usually within 24 hours. Response time varies because of our hours of operation, the type of question asked, and the availability of staff.

        Schedule a Consultation

        Make an appointment with a librarian for one-on-one assistance with your research project, help in finding appropriate resources, or instruction on using library resources. Call 701-224-5450.

        Description

        Loading  Loading...

        Tip